Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik are back in the Pakistan ODI squad

Shahid Afridi: Back in the Pakistan one-day international picture

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Pakistan have recalled big-hitting all-rounder Shahid Afridi and former captain Shoaib Malik for their one-day international series in South Africa next month.

The duo featured in the drawn Twenty20 series against India in December but were left out for the one-day series.

However, the veterans have now been recalled, and middle-order batsman Umar Akmal, who missed out on the Test squad for the South Africa tour, will also be back in the fold.

Afridi will be under pressure because Pakistan's chief selector Iqbal Qasim says this could be his one-day international swansong.

Qasim told a news conference in Lahore on Wednesday: "Shahid Afridi should consider this a final chance to hit form for Pakistan in limited overs' cricket.

"We thought that the team needed a spinner to back (Saeed) Ajmal in the one-day series.

"They (The South Africans) are playing well against fast bowlers and we have seen that, if you have a variety of spinners, it will give you benefit.

"It's five ODIs and you need variety in your bowling. Based on his quality of right-arm leg-spin bowling, we have selected Afridi.

"The South Africa tour is his last chance and he has to perform."

The Pakistan batting order has generally failed to fire in the ongoing three-Test series against the South Africas and the tourists are 2-0 down, with the final Test set to start at Centurion on Friday.

The two sides will then contest two Twenty20 matches on 1 and 3 of March before the five-match one-day international series begins on 10 March in Bloemfontein.

Pakistan Twenty20 squad: Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Nasir Jamshed, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Umar Akmal, Umar Gul, Ahmed Shahzad, Umar Amin, Zulfiqar Babar, Asad Ali, Junaid Khan

Pakistan one-day squad: Misbah-ul Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Imran Farhat, Nasir Jamshed, Kamran Akmal, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Saeed Ajmal, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz, Abdul Rehman, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan