Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Prince to lead Proteas

South Africa ring the changes for third and final Test

Prince: Proteas recall

South Africa have named recalled batsman Ashwell Prince as captain for the third Test against Australia at Newlands.

The Aussies opened up an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-Test series after wrapping up a 175-run victory at Kingsmead earlier on Tuesday.

Prince will lead the side in the absence of Graeme Smith, and will also open the innings with Imraan Khan, who has been called up to the national side for the first time.

Left-arm paceman Wayne Parnell has also been added to the squad in what is the 19-year-old's first Test selection having been part of the Proteas ODI outfit during the tour to Australia.

Neil McKenzie and Morne Morkel have paid the price for a string of poor performances and have been axed from the squad.

Injured skipper Smith told "It's disappointing for Neil, especially at this stage of his career.

"It's going to be difficult for him to come back at this stage of his career to stake a claim for this position again.


"Morne is different, he's still very young. He's got a lot of learning to do about himself.

"The more he bowls and plays the more he'll understand his strengths and weaknesses and what he needs to do out in the middle.

"Morne has a great future ahead of him, he just needs to develop."

Johan Botha will captain the side for the two Twenty20 Internationals on March 27 and 29 - with fast bowler Yusuf Abdulla and batsman Roelof van der Merwe poised to win their first caps.

All-rounders Johann Louw, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson and Justin Ontong make returns to the international fold, however Jacques Kallis and Makhaya Ntini are being rested ahead of the ODI series.

Squad for the third Test: Ashwell Prince (capt), Imraan Khan, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Mark Boucher (wk), Paul Harris, Albie Morkel, Dale Steyn, Makhaya Ntini, Wayne Parnell.

Twenty20 squad: Johan Botha (captain), Yusuf Abdulla, Hashim Amla, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Johann Louw, Albie Morkel, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Roelof van der Merwe, Vaughn van Jaarsveld.