Ishant Sharma has been fined 15 percent of his match fee following an incident during India's Commonwealth Bank Series defeat to Australia on Sunday.
Sharma was handed the punishment by ICC match referee Jeff Crowe for pointing to the pavilion after clean bowling Andrew Symonds.
It is the latest incident of on-field misbehaviour to mar India's tour. The Test series, won 2-1 by Australia, was overshadowed by an accusation that Harbhajan Singh racially abused Symonds during the second Test.
Harbhajan was originally found guilty and given a three-match ban, prompting India to consider returning home.
However, an appeal hearing cleared the off-spinner of the charge of racial abuse. He was instead found gulity of the lesser offence of using abusive language.
The Indian team management are believed to be unhappy with the conduct of Australia's players during the one-dayer in Sydney. Cricinfo report that they have outlined their concerns about 'provocation' from the home players in a letter to Crowe.
Slow over rate
It was also a costly day for Australia captain Ricky Ponting, who was punished by Crowe for his side's slow over rate.
Ponting lost 20 percent of his match fee, while the rest of the team were each fined 10 percent.
"Prior to the match in Melbourne, I had talks with the Australia team management in which I had again reminded them of their responsibilities regarding over rates," said Crowe.
"In such circumstances, getting through their overs in the early stages would assist them to have enough time available to work with the bowlers and set fielding placing when the match enters the last 10 overs or crucial stages."
Meanwhile, India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has agreed to change the type of wicketkeeping gloves he uses after Crowe ruled the pair he wore at the start of Australia's innings on Sunday breached the ICC code of conduct.
Dhoni's gloves were found to have extra webbing between the thumb and forefinger - in breach of law 40.2 of the code - and were immediately changed for a legal pair.
"After I raised my concern in the India dressing room, Dhoni immediately changed his gloves on the advice of the India team management which was a reasonable thing to do," said Crowe.
"These gloves were then inspected after the match by the third umpire, myself and later by the two on-field umpires.
"The three umpires ruled that the gloves were in breach of Laws of Cricket.
"Dhoni has not been penalised on this occasion but he has been advised that if he uses the gloves again before they have been modified, inspected and cleared, he could be charged for a breach of clause C1 of the code of conduct."