Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Dilshan axed from Test squad

Experienced batsman left out for tour of Australia

Dilshan: dropped

Tillakaratne Dilshan has been left out of Sri Lanka's 16-man squad for the tour of Australia later this month.

Batsman Dilshan, 30, has paid the price for poor recent form in the Test arena - he is averaging a modest 34.65 without in a century in his last 15 matches.

Jehan Mubarak and Thilan Samaraweera are both included as middle-order options, while veteran opener Sanath Jayasuriya also makes the trip.

Jayasuriya has benefitted from the decision of Marvan Atapattu to spurn an approach from the Sri Lankan selectors to return from his self-imposed international exile.

Atapattu, who was granted his release from a central contract in August, declined to meet with the selectors to discuss his future and was therefore not considered for selection.

Fast bowler Chanaka Welagedera is the only uncapped player included after impessing during Sri Lanka A's tour of England earlier in the year.

Muttiah Muralitharan's recovery from a bicep injury is on course and he should be ready for the tour as he chases Shane Warne's record for Test wickets.

Muralitharan requires nine wickets to overhaul retired Australian leg-spinner Warne's mark of 708, a feat he could achieve during the two-Test tour.

The first Test takes place in Brisbane (Nov 8-12), followed by the series-decider in Hobart (Nov 16-20).

Sri Lanka squad: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Kumar Sangakkara (vice captain), Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Michael Vandort, Chamara Silva, Thilan Samaraweera, Jehan Mubarak, Prasanna Jayawardene, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Farveez Maharoof, Chanaka Welagedera, Muttiah Muralitharan, Malinga Bandara