Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Sam Robson included in England Performance squad for Australia tour

Sam Robson: Set to tour country of his birth

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

England seem to have won the battle for Middlesex opener Sam Robson by including him in the Performance Programme squad.

Robson was born in Sydney but qualified for England on residency this summer. Australia responded by relaxing their own qualification rules, allowing dual-nationals to play cricket in more than once country.

The likes of Robson and Glamorgan's Michael Hogan previously had to decide whether to play their cricket in Australia or England if they did not want to be considered an overseas player.

The new rule - which is being called "Robson's rule" - does not appear to have swayed the Middlesex opener to change allegiance back to Australia and he will tour the country of his birth this winter.

He is the second-highest run-scorer in Division One this season, scoring 1,180 runs at 47.20.

Worcestershire's Moeen Ali, the top scorer in county cricket this summer, is selected in a powerful looking batting unit which includes Warwickshire opener Varun Chopra, Yorkshire's promising opener Alex Lees, Robson, and Hampshire's James Vince.

Wicketkeepers Jos Buttler and Ben Foakes add further batting firepower.

Sussex's Chris Jordan, who made his one-day international debut this summer, is included alongside fellow pace men James Harris of Middlesex, Essex duo Tymal Mills and Reece Topley and Northants' emerging all-rounder David Willey.

Durham fast bowler Mark Wood , who has made a big breakthrough into the champions' first-team this season, and Somerset's Jamie Overton will not tour Australia but will remain in England for strength and conditioning work.

Hampshire's Danny Briggs and Lancashire leggie Simon Kerrigan - who endured a nightmare Test debut in the fifth Ashes Test at the Oval - are the spin options.

None of the men who missed out on the full England squad for the Ashes series have been picked for the Performance squad. Nottinghamshire's James Taylor, a stalwart of the 'Lions' in recent years, is a notable omission, and he will not have a representative tour this winter.

England Performance Programme Squad: Moeen Ali, Danny Briggs, Joe Buttler, Varun Chopra, Ben Foakes, James Harris, Chris Jordan, Simon Kerrigan, Alex Lees, Tymal Mills, Sam Robson, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey. (Mark Wood, Jamie Overton to remain in England)

Who was most unlucky to miss out on England's Ashes tour squad?

  • Nick Compton
  • Graham Onions
  • James Taylor
  • Chris Woakes
  • Other