Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Daniel Vettori turns down deal from New Zealand due to concerns over his fitness

Mitchell McClenaghan: Was impressive for the Black Caps in the ICC Champions Trophy

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

New Zealand Cricket have included six fresh faces on a much-changed annual list of 20 contracted players.

Corey Anderson, Tom Latham, Bruce Martin, Mitchell McLenaghan, Colin Munro and Hamish Rutherford are all named for the first time after breaking into the international set-up over the past 12 months.

Left-arm paceman McClenaghan was particularly impressive for the Kiwis in the recent ICC Champions Trophy, taking 11 wickets, while batsman Rutherford hit a century on Test debut, against England in Dunedin in March.

South African-born all-rounder Grant Elliott returns to the list after missing out last season while Test opener Peter Fulton regains a place for the first time in four years.

Chris Martin is not included after announcing his retirement and former captain Daniel Vettori turned down the offer of a contract due to concerns over his long-term fitness.

Batsman Daniel Flynn, wicketkeeper Kruger van Wyk and one-day specialists James Franklin and Rob Nicol have all been omitted.

Busy schedule

The Black Caps will undergo tours of Bangladesh and Sri Lanka and face West Indies home and away during the next 12 months. They will also host India during a hectic schedule.

"We believe that the 20 players selected will provide the most value to the Black Caps over what is an exciting period for the team," coach Mike Hesson said.

"There's plenty of cricket to be played over the next 12 months, with series against Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, West Indies, India and the ICC World Twenty20.

"With nine changes from last years contracted list, it's evident that competition for places is high.

"There's still a strong core of experienced players who have been a part of the team's progression over recent months. Some of the younger players such as Corey Anderson and Hamish Rutherford have also demanded a spot, after making strong starts to their international careers."

New Zealand contracted players: Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Dean Brownlie, Grant Elliott, Peter Fulton, Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Bruce Martin, Mitchell McClenaghan, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Colin Munro, Hamish Rutherford, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson.

Post a Comment

All fields required, your email address will not be displayed with your comment

Post a Comment

All fields required, your email address will not be displayed with your comment