Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

England confirm squad for first Ashes Test

Alastair Cook and Joe Root: England's opening pair for Trent Bridge

Graham Onions: Durham bowler makes England's 13-man cut for Trent Bridge

England have confirmed their 13-man squad for the first Ashes Test against Australia at Trent Bridge, which begins on Wednesday.

There are few real surprises in selection, with Joe Root in pole position to open the batting following the controversial omission of Somerset star Nick Compton from the warm-up fixtures.

As expected, maverick batsman Kevin Pietersen is recalled following a troublesome knee injury and there is also a place for Jonny Bairstow, who will be pushing for inclusion in the middle order.

Bowling-wise, England have selected an extra bowler with Tim Bresnan, Steven Finn and Graham Onions doing battle to join regular seamers Stuart Broad and James Anderson in the starting XI.

National selector Geoff Miller said: "This is an incredibly exciting period of cricket coming up against Australia and we know we will need to play to our full potential throughout the entire Investec Ashes Series if we are to retain the Ashes.

"We are satisfied with our preparations so far ahead of the first Test with both Graeme Swann and Stuart Broad recovering well from the injuries they picked up earlier this week.

"The squad will continue their hard work over the next few days and will be eagerly anticipating the start of the series on Wednesday at Trent Bridge."

Compton took to Twitter to give his backing to his England team-mates after hearing he had been omitted from the squad.

He said: "Naturally disappointed am not in the squad but I'm right behind the boys and wish them luck for the series I'll be ready if my chance comes."

England squad: Alastair Cook (Essex) (Capt), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Graham Onions (Durham), Kevin Pietersen (Surrey), Matt Prior (Sussex), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire).

Who will score the most runs in the first Test?

  • Michael Clarke
  • Alastair Cook
  • Shane Watson
  • Joe Root
  • Kevin Pietersen

Post a Comment

All fields required, your email address will not be displayed with your comment

Post a Comment

All fields required, your email address will not be displayed with your comment