Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

England v New Zealand: 1st Twenty20 international preview

Eoin Morgan: Middlesex batsman will lead England's T20 side in Stuart Broad's absence

Gary Ballance: Yorkshire batsman rewarded for good county form with England call-up

Eoin Morgan will lead England in the first of two Twenty20 internationals against New Zealand at The Oval on Tuesday looking to move on swiftly from his Champions Trophy disappointment.

Morgan's dismissal sparked a collapse that saw England fall short against India in Sunday's showpiece occasion at Edgbaston in a match that had been reduced to 20 overs by rain.

With the Test players now turning their focus to the Ashes that leaves Morgan, Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler and James Tredwell as the only surviving members of England's 14-man T20 squad who played in the Champions Trophy final.

Yorkshire batsman Gary Ballance will make his international debut if selected, while Durham all-rounder Ben Stokes is back in favour after being sent home from England Lions' tour last winter for disciplinary reasons and Warwickshire paceman Boyd Rankin could get his first chance since switching allegiance from Ireland.

Pietersen return

The return of Kevin Pietersen, who made 177 not out for Surrey on his comeback from a knee injury, is pencilled in for the second match of the series at the same venue on Thursday.

"It is a new-look squad in some ways, with the Test boys out, so that is exciting," said England's limited-overs coach Ashley Giles.

New Zealand are looking to sign off a mixed tour of England on a high note.

They won the ODI series 2-1, were beaten 2-0 in the Tests and went out in the group stage of the Champions Trophy.

New Zealand have won just two of the nine T20 internationals they have played against England.

England squad: E Morgan (capt), G Ballance, R Bopara, D Briggs, J Buttler (wkt), J Dernbach, A Hales, M Lumb, K Pietersen, W Rankin, B Stokes, J Tredwell, C Woakes, L Wright

New Zealand squad: B McCullum (capt), C Anderson, D Bracewell, I Butler, J Franklin, M Guptill, R Hira, T Latham (wkt), M McClenaghan, N McCullum, K Mills, C Munro, H Rutherford, R Taylor