Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

England call for Sidebottom

Bresnan injury opens the door for Nottinghamshire bowler

Sidebottom: Recalled

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

England have called Ryan Sidebottom into their squad for the second Test against Bangladesh after Tim Bresnan was ruled out.

LIVE ON SKY SPORTS HD England v Bangladesh Second Test, Old Trafford Starts Friday, 10am, Sky Sports 1 HD. Also available to watch via Sky Player, with live text commentary on SKY BET ODDS England are 1/8 to beat Bangladesh in the 2nd Test at Old Trafford. The visitors are 33/1 to upset Andrew Strauss' men. Click here for all markets.

Yorkshire all-rounder Bresnan suffered a foot injury during the eight-wicket victory over the tourists at Lord's - and he faces further assessment on the problem.

As a result, Nottinghamshire bowler Sidebottom has been called up to the 12-man squad for Old Trafford.

And national selector Geoff Miller believes Sidebottom will be pushing for a place in the starting XI following his displays in the ICC World Twenty20.

"We can be very pleased with a number of aspects from the first npower Test at Lord's resulting in a comprehensive win against Bangladesh," said Miller.


"It's very unfortunate that Tim Bresnan will miss the second Test through injury as his bowling benefitted from five days of Test cricket during the Lord's Test and he would have been looking forward to getting more overs under his belt at Old Trafford.

"It does, however, provide Ryan Sidebottom with an opportunity to push for Test selection following his outstanding performances in the World Twenty20.

"The entire bowling unit will be better for the overs bowled during the first Test and looking to further build on this in Manchester."

Bresnan's Yorkshire colleague Ajmal Shahzad is England's other option to come into the side - with the 24-year-old offering a better all-round option given his healthy first-class batting average of 31.09.

England: Andrew Strauss (Middlesex), James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Alastair Cook (Essex), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire), Matt Prior (Sussex), Ajmal Shahzad (Yorkshire), Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)