Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Duo answer India call

Vinay and Chawla named in Twenty20 squad

Chawla: India call-up

India have named uncapped medium-pace bowler Vinay Kumar and leg-spinner Piyush Chawla in their final 15-man squad for the ICC World Twenty20.

Karnataka bowler Vinay has impressed during the ongoing Indian Premier League campaign, and has done enough to earn a call for the Caribbean showpiece starting next month.

The 26-year-old is joined in the fast bowling department by Zaheer Khan, Bangalore Royal Challengers team-mate Praveen Kumar and Delhi paceman Ashish Nehra, who is still recovering from injury.

Chawla, who has been signed by English county Surrey for the 2010 campaign, is the only other specialist spinner named in the side apart from Harbhajan Singh.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik has also made the squad, while paceman Ishant Sharma and batsman Virat Kohli are the most notable omissions.


All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, who has been banned by the IPL, has however retained his place in the side along with hard-hitting batsman Yusuf Pathan.

Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and opener Gautam Gambhir have been given the nod after chairman of selectors Krishnamachari Srikkanth insisted they were over injury scares.

"This is the best possible team that has been selected and I am confident that this team will do well in the West Indies," Srikkanth said.

"The conditions in the Caribbean are similar to the sub-continent and I'm sure our bowlers will do well.

"There are no injury concerns at this stage with any of the players selected."

The World Twenty20 begins on April 30.

India 15-man squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Vinay Kumar, Dinesh Karthik, Rohit Sharma, Piyush Chawla.