Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Bangladesh leave out Mortaza

Skipper to miss series due to knee injury

Mortaza: Will miss the tri-nations series

Loading Market ...

Cricket Betting

Up To £30 Free Matched Bet

Captain Mashrafe Mortaza has been left out of the Bangladesh squad for the tri-nations series.

"Mortaza is 80 percent fit for cricket. We are not taking any risk with him"

Rafiqul Alam

Quotes of the week

The 26-year-old fast bowler has failed to regain full fitness in time for the tournament after damaging his knee during the first Test against the West Indies in July.

The injury ruled Mortaza out of the remainder of the tour and sidelined him for the subsequent one-day series against Zimbabwe both home and away.

However, he was chosen in a preliminary squad for the tri-nations and was selected as captain for the competition, as well as the following two-Test series against India at home.

Chief selector Rafiqul Alam, though, has said Mortaza has not recovered quickly enough from his injury to be chanced in the series.

"Mortaza is 80 per cent fit for cricket. We are not taking any risk with him," said Alam.


All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan will replace Mortaza as captain for the series after he led Bangladesh to victories against the West Indies and Zimbabwe as stand-in skipper, while wicket-keeper Mushfiqur Rahim has been named as his deputy.

Opener Shahriar Nafees Ahmed and middle-order batsman Aftab Ahmed will return to the side after serving bans for the joining the rebel Indian Cricket League last year.

"They both performed well in the domestic cricket. Aftab is also a useful medium pacer," added Alam.

The only new face in the side is 22-year-old fast bowler Shafiul Islam, who impressed selectors with his performance in the premier division cricket league.

"He bowls well and is mature enough to cope with international pressure," said Alam.

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Mushfiqur Rahim (vice-captain), Mohammad Ashraful, Tamim Iqbal, Roqibul Hassan, Mahmud Ullah Riyad, Naeem Islam, Abdur Razzak, Syed Rasel, Nazmul Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Imrul Kayes, Shahriar Nafees, Aftab Ahmed, Shafiul Islam.