Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Shakib retained as skipper

Mortaza remains sidelined for Bangladesh, Rasel dropped

Shakib: successful stint as Bangladesh captain

Shakib Al Hasan has been retained as Bangladesh captain for the one-day series at home against Zimbabwe.

The all-rounder led the Tigers to their maiden Test series victory against West Indies in the Caribbean last July after replacing an injured Mashrafe Mortaza mid-way through the opening match.

Under Shakib's leadership, Bangladesh also won the subsequent limited-overs series 3-0 and beat Zimbabwe 4-1 away in a one-day series in August.

Paceman Mortaza underwent surgery on both knees in Australia and is not able to start bowling again until the second week of November, said chief selector Rafiqul Alam.

Bangladesh have named a 14-man squad for the first three matches of the five-game series with Zimbabwe.

Razzak returns

Left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak returns following an ankle injury, while Shahadat Hossain has been preferred to fellow seamer Syed Rasel.

The first three matches will be held in Dhaka on October 27, 29 and 31 before the teams switch to Chittagong for the conclusion of the series on November 3 and 5.

Bangladesh squad: Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Zunaed Siddique, Mohammad Ashraful, Roqibul Hassan, Mahmud Ullah, Naeem Islam, Enamul Haque Jr, Rubel Hossain, Dollar Mahmud, Shahadat Hossain, Abdur Razzak, Nazmul Hossain