Harry Kewell has accused referee Roberto Rosetti of 'killing his World Cup' after being sent off against Ghana.
The Australia striker was given his marching orders for handball in Saturday's 1-1 draw and is now facing a minimum one-match suspension.
He does not believe he should have been shown a red card, despite getting struck high on the arm by a thunderous shot to prevent a certain goal for Ghana.
Kewell pleaded with Rosetti to look at a replay on the big screen inside the stadium, but the referee's mind was already made up.
Kewell accepts that the ball hit his arm but maintains that it was accidental and as such he should have been allowed to stay on the pitch.
"I think he did have a look at the screen but he is the referee and you can't tell him what to do," said the Galatasaray player.
"He is the judge, jury and executioner. I am devastated, the guy has killed my World Cup."
Kewell added: "OK, maybe it has hit my arm but it was not deliberate.
"Unless I detach my arm and put it somewhere else there is no way I can move my arm.
"I didn't deliberately go for the hand, I didn't try to handball it. I tried to use my chest, playing by the rules but the ref saw it another way and was probably the only one who did."
Ghana were awarded a penalty for Kewell's handball and Asamoah Gyan duly scored to cancel out Brett Holman's early opener for Australia.
However, Ghana were unable to make the most of their numerical advantage and Kewell was proud of the way his team-mates performed.
"We were unlucky not to win," he said. "I thought we had the more clear chances and it didn't fall for us. It's a shame."